» » Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance

Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance album flac

Performer: Katatonia
Genre: Rock
Title: The Great Cold Distance
Country: UK
Released: 2007
Style: Alternative Rock, Doom Metal
FLAC version ZIP size: 1952 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1436 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1491 mb
Rating: 4.6
Votes: 286
Other Formats: AIFF MP3 MOD XM MP2 AC3 APE

The Great Cold Distance is the seventh full-length album by Swedish metal band Katatonia, released on 13 March 2006. The album was recorded and mixed at Fascination Street Studios, Örebro between May and August 2005. The album was re-released on March 12, 2007 with two bonus tracks and with the entire album in . surround sound.

The Great Cold Distance. Released March 13, 2006. The Great Cold Distance Tracklist.

The Great Cold Distance has something of a reputation in Katatonia’s discography. Not only is it a top recommendation for prospecting fans, but its songs frequently bathe the band’s setlists like drops of blood in an expanding pool of water. While this isn’t a concept album, there’s a definite pull and consistent momentum from track to track. Instrumentally speaking, The Great Cold Distance rests on the simple end of the spectrum, alternating soft guitar melodies with aggressive (though still palpable) power chords to drive the aforementioned moments of escalation.

The Great Cold Distance is Katatonia's seventh full-length release, and it serves as another chapter in Katatonia's fascinating musical journey. It builds on their previous album, Viva Emptiness, by continuing to move away from death metal and by embracing a more melodic approach. While this has somewhat alienated a number of fans of their earlier music, it has opened them up to a much wider audience; namely fans of alternative or progressive music.

Tracklist Hide Credits

CD1 Leaders 4:21
CD2 Deliberation
Music By, Arranged By – Nyström*, F.Norrman*, Renkse*
CD3 Soil's Song 4:12
CD4 My Twin 3:41
CD5 Consternation 3:51
CD6 Follower 4:46
CD7 Rusted 4:21
CD8 Increase 4:20
CD9 July 4:45
CD10 In The White 4:54
CD11 The Itch 4:20
CD12 Journey Through Pressure
Drums [Additional] – Peter Damin
Bonus Tracks
CD13 Displaced 5:16
CD14 Dissolving Bonds 3:43
5.1 Surround Sound Mix
DVDA1 Leaders 4:20
DVDA2 Deliberation
Music By, Arranged By – Nyström*, F.Norrman*, Renkse*
DVDA3 Soil's Song 4:11
DVDA4 My Twin 3:41
DVDA5 Consternation 3:50
DVDA6 Follower 4:45
DVDA7 Rusted 4:20
DVDA8 Increase 4:19
DVDA9 July 4:44
DVDA10 In The White 4:53
DVDA11 The Itch 4:19
DVDA12 Journey Through Pressure
Drums [Additional] – Peter Damin

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Fascination Street Studios
  • Mixed At – Fascination Street Studios
  • Mastered At – Cutting Room
  • Published By – Vile Music
  • Designed At – Seempieces
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Peaceville Records
  • Copyright (c) – Peaceville Records


  • Art Direction – Nyström*, Renkse*
  • Artwork, Design [For Seempieces] – Travis Smith
  • Backing Vocals – Nyström*, Andreas Åkerberg, Liljekvist*
  • Bass – Mattias Norrman
  • Booking [For theagencygroup.com] – Derek Kemp
  • Co-producer, Mixed By, Engineer – David Castillo , Jens Bogren
  • Drums – Daniel Liljekvist
  • Guitar – Anders Nyström, Fredrik Norrman
  • Guitar [Additional] – Renkse*
  • Keyboards, Loops, Programmed By [Programming], Effects [F/x] – Nyström*, Castillo*, Bogren*, Renkse*
  • Lyrics By – Renkse*
  • Mastered By – Thomas Eberger
  • Mastered By [With] – Jens Bogren
  • Mixed By [5.1 Mix] – Jens Bogren (tracks: DVDA1 to DVDA12)
  • Music By, Arranged By – Nyström* (tracks: CD1, CD3 to DVDA1, DVDA3 to DVDA12), Renkse*
  • Photography By [Band] – Olle Carlsson
  • Producer – Nyström*, Renkse*
  • Technician [Drum Tech], Percussion – Peter Damin
  • Vocals – Jonas Renkse


Recorded & mixed at Fascination Street Studios, Örebro, June-September 2005
Mastered at Cutting Room, Stockholm

All songs published by Vile Music (A division of Zomba Music Publishers Ltd)

℗2007 Peaceville Records ©2007 Peaceville Records
Peaceville is a Snapper Music label. Made in the UK

2 Disc Special Edition
The Great Cold Distance featuring two bonus tracks plus...
Remixed & Remastered 5.1 surround sound high resolution DVD-A Disc

DVD-Audio is encoded at 48kHz/24bit

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 01056 81762 4
  • Barcode (String): 801056817624
  • Matrix / Runout (CD): CDVILEF176X-1
  • Mastering SID Code (CD): IFPI LT22
  • Mould SID Code (CD): IFPI UU011
  • Matrix / Runout (DVD): CDVILEF176X-2
  • Mastering SID Code (DVD): IFPI LT23
  • Mould SID Code (DVD): IFPI UU229

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CDVILEF 128 Katatonia The Great Cold Distance ‎(CD, Album, O-C) Peaceville CDVILEF 128 UK 2006
CDVILED128 Katatonia The Great Cold Distance ‎(CD, Album, Sup) Peaceville CDVILED128 UK 2006
CDVILEF 128 Katatonia The Great Cold Distance ‎(CD, Album, Unofficial) Peaceville CDVILEF 128 Russia 2006
CDVILEF 128X Katatonia The Great Cold Distance ‎(CD, Album, Enh, Unofficial) Peaceville CDVILEF 128X Russia 2006
VILELP661 Katatonia The Great Cold Distance ‎(2xLP, Album, RE, TP, W/Lbl) Peaceville VILELP661 UK 2016

Such a great album, flawlessly executed. The artwork's great too.