» » Usurpress - Interregnum

Usurpress - Interregnum album flac

Performer: Usurpress
Genre: Rock
Title: Interregnum
Country: Poland
Released: 2018
Style: Death Metal, Progressive Metal
FLAC version ZIP size: 1158 mb
MP3 version ZIP size: 1299 mb
WMA version ZIP size: 1154 mb
Rating: 4.2
Votes: 400

Album Name Interregnum. Дата релиза 23 Февраль 2018. Лейблы Agonia Records.

What Usurpress have done with Interregnum is not apparent right from the first listen. From a humourless, unstructured sprawl, the songs here develop a very powerful pull despite not being instinctively appealing in any way, unfolding their construction by increments - a process which could easily go on into double figures on the listening count. For all the shifting and eluding that Usurpress do throughout Interregnum, there does appear to be a uniting factor tying everything together and that comes out towards the end of album centrepiece 'Late in the 11th Hour'. After flitting through some forthright riffing and an overdriven bass solo, the song settles suddenly into epic gear, a final battle rush lifting the listener above the album’s playing field and looking directly down on the central philosophy that informs the mood of the experience. From the curious highlighting of the refrain in such emphatic style, one may begin.

Usurpress have created an album that defies the ordinary and the oft-heard. Elements are drawn from wells that seem miles apart, then combined in unexpected ways, more sequentially than the usual mash-ups. The wide variations don’t make for an album that feels wholly coherent on the first listen, and Interregnum takes time to amalgamate properly despite the modest running time. Once it does, however, it reveals itself as more than a response to albums that seem to be the same song a dozen times over. It’s an outright challenge. Well, this album is quite something. As much as I liked Usurpress in the past, this album surpasses everything that they’ve previously done. It’s been a real joy watching this band develop over the years, and it’s great to see them expand into newer territories, especially when the end result is as finely realised and well-delivered as it is on Interregnum.

Interregnum defines what it is to be an extreme metal album in 2018. Let’s face it if it’s true, it’s far from hyperbole. At times, Usurpress makes you feel like you’re listening to a natural force of a wave

Swedish death metallers Usurpress, featuring member ex-Insision bassist and author of must-read Swedish Death Metal Daniel Ekeroth, Regurgitated Innards guitarist Påhl Sundström, and ex-Embalmed vocalist Stefan Pettersson, are facing the leftest of the left-hand paths on new album, Interregnum.

Usurpress doesn’t allow you to settle into a comfort zone. A Place in the Pantheon sets the ominous tone with clean tones and dark whispers, morphing gradually into a triumphant maelstrom of Rush keyboard flurries. The first of many whiplashes hits when the subsequent track is a 2 minute blast of pure Swedish death metal. Usurpress have created an album that defies the ordinary and the oft-heard.

Interregnum is the 4th album and follow up to the ambitious concept suite The Regal Tribe (2016), by Swedish self-proclaimed primitive and progressive death metallers Usurpress. This time, core members Stefan Pettersson (vocals, lyrics), Påhl Sundström (guitars, music) and Daniel Ekeroth (bass, music) are joined by jazz-fusion drummer Stefan Hildman and ambient/trance keyboardist Erik Sundström, and the outcome astounded even the band itself


I A Place In The Pantheon 4:18
II Interregnum 1:54
III In Books Without Pages 4:57
IV Late in the 11th Hour 7:33
Ships Of Black Glass (8:57)
V.I Shards
V.II Black Echo
VI The Iron Gates Will Melt 5:13
VII The Vagrant Harlot 5:05

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Dug-Out Productions
  • Recorded At – Studio Shuriken
  • Mixed At – Dug-Out Productions
  • Mixed At – Obey Mastering
  • Mastered At – Dug-Out Productions
  • Mastered At – Obey Mastering


  • Bass Guitar – Daniel Ekeroth
  • Cover, Photography By [Band Photo By] – Johan Söderkrantz
  • Featuring, Drums – Stefan Hildman
  • Featuring, Keyboards – Erik Sundström
  • Guitar [Guitars] – Påhl Sundström
  • Layout [Album Layout By] – Påhl Sundström
  • Lyrics By – Pettersson*
  • Mixed By, Mastered By – Lawrence Mackrory
  • Music By – Ekeroth*, P. Sundström*
  • Recorded By [Guitars, Bass And Drums Recorded By] – Lawrence Mackrory
  • Recorded By [Vocals And Keyboards Recorded By] – Erik Sundström
  • Vocals – Stefan Pettersson*


Issued in a 4-panel Digipak. Comes with a 12-page booklet.

Info from booklet:
Guitar, bass and drums recorded in Dugout Productions.
Vocals andd keyboards recorded in Studio Shuriken.
Mixed and mastered in Dugout Productions an Obey Mastering in December 2017.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 5 906660 372431 >
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5906660372431
  • Matrix / Runout: 23112 www.agoniarecords.com

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ARLP159 Usurpress Interregnum ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Num, Gol) Agonia Records ARLP159 Poland 2018
ARLP159 Usurpress Interregnum ‎(LP, Album, Ltd) Agonia Records ARLP159 Poland 2018