5 BBC mini series to watch on Netflix


Hello, everyone! I`m still on vacation, but luckily I have scheduled posts in advance. Who`s a good blogger? (pat my head, dammit) So today`s post is quite simple, as I can't interact with you. I`ll be talking about some of my favourite BBC mini series that you can find on Netflix. I`m a big historical fiction fan, so the action of these series takes place in the past. If this is not your cup of tea, then you might find some boring. Though the acting and costumes are enough to keep you entertained.

1. "Pride and Prejudice"
This is the best version and I don`t care what everyone else has to say. I know, I know. I should learn to accept other people`s opinions. But hey, it`s with Colin Firth, who was born to play Mr Darcy! And Mr Bennet is such a Victorian rock star. One of the reasons why I like this adaptation so much is because it`s pretty close to the book. Personally, I hate it when they bring these modern adaptations and make changes to the story. If it ain`t broke, don`t fix it.

2. "War and Peace"
I consider myself a bookworm with a healthy obsession with classics. Yet despite my love for Russian literature, I could not finish this book. So I`ve decided to watch the adaptation before. I had problems with "Pride and Prejudice" before, so watching the BBC series helped. Anyways, I don`t know if the adaptation is true to the book, but I love it. "War and Peace" has a great cast, I love the costumes and the drama. 

3. "Dickensian"
OK, I don`t think this classifies as a mini series, but I`ll include it anyway. Dickens` most famous characters intersect their lives in 19th century London. The story is solid and the acting phenomenal. If you`re into historical dramas, this is one you can`t miss. It might rekindle your love with Charles Dickens books and also take you out of a reading slump.

4. "Parade`s End"
Benedict Cumberbatch. Is it enough to convince you? The man can play any role. But if you want more details, here it goes. This is about an English aristocrat torn between his mean socialite wife and a young suffragette. Drama, drama, drama! Perfect for fans of Fitzgerald and Gossip Girl. Ah, the tumultuous life these aristocrats have.

5. "North and South"
This is a close adaptation of Elizabeth Gaskell`s novel. Daniela Denby-Ashe does a terrific job as Margaret Hale, a middle-class southerner forced to move to the northern town of Milton. If you`re interested in history and how the Industrial revolution changed lives, watch this.

I did not mention "Sherlock" because you all know how much I love that show. Like I said, even if you`re not into historical fiction as much as I am, give these a chance. Who knows, you might like some.


12 comments

  1. I love British shows! Thanks for putting this list together. I will definitely watch.
    http://www.averysweetblog.com/

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for making this post. I wanted to watch some of the TV shows from your list a long time ago. ("Pride and Prejudice" and "War and Peace")

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They`re both great, I hope you`ll like them.

      Delete
  3. I've seen Pride and Prejudice and I liked it! Parade's End sounds good too, I did not know these were available on Netflix :O thanks for the tip!
    Pam xo/ Pam Scalfi♥

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Netflix has a nice selection, just put in BBC series and you`ll get tons of results.

      Delete
  4. The BBC do some great series! Don't forget Dr Who!

    Corinne x
    www.skinnedcartree.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Haven't watched any of these, so thank you for the list x

    Laura
    https://pinkfrenzymissl.blogspot.be/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You`re welcome, hope you`ll like some of them.

      Delete